Looking After Myself

Well, well, well…here I am writing another post! I’m soooo onto it. 

The last two days have been pretty crap. I’ve been off work for two days with a crippling cold and sleeping through the night was out of the question. Thankfully, I woke up this morning feeling sooo much better! My stomach actually feels relatively normal. The cold symptoms are still there, but that’s nothing that cold medicine can’t deal with.

I have pretty much been living off of fruit toast, butter, cheese toasties, and porridge and I’ve barely  moved. There have been no veggies in sight.

When I used to feel sick when I was in the depths of my disorder, I would struggle to rest and eat without going for a walk or run. I would feel guilty for looking after myself! 

Thankfully, I no longer feel like that. I do not feel guilty for feeding myself and resting my body. That’s what your body needs when you’re not feeling 100%. It has made me realise how important it is to look after yourself. I no longer worry about how much I’m eating or how little exercise I’m doing. I know that if I had restricted myself and gone for a work, I would have felt even worse for it. Exercise is supposed to make us feel good. If you know you won’t feel good by the end of it, then don’t do it. It’s as “easy” as that.

On a less sickening note, I have finally booked flights to go over to the UK! I am so excited. I now feel very poor, however. The trouble with living at the bottom of the world is that when you want to travel to the far north, it will cost you a pretty penny. My flights were relatively cheap considering what other airlines were charging, but I know it was money well spent. 

I’m very excited to finally meet some good friends that I’ve met through the blog world and twitter. I consider these people to be close friends even though I’ve never met them. How funny is that? 

Bring on the 23rd of June 😀

Do you feel guilty for not exercising or eating properly when you feel sick?

Are you travelling anywhere exciting this year?? 🙂

katy

Posted on 16 February 2013, in Health, Life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I use to feel guilty years ago when I was deep in Ed, but thankfully I now know that when I am sick my body is working hard to fight it off…that’s a big enough workout. It needs rest and nourishment! Heck even when I’m not sick I love knowing if my body tells Me it needs rest it does and I listen,

  2. I felt guitly before, not anymore. I’ve realized that my body is telling me what to do, and I should listen, and not ignore the signs like I did before.
    This year, I’m going to Africa, and hopefully to UK 😉

  3. I don’t feel guilty for how I eat and how little I move when I’m sick, but I feel guilty for resting. It’s hard for me not to do something productive and just stay in bed and watch movies or something. I always think I should work or at least read some articles or practice the piano.

  4. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the
    long run and it’s time tto be happy. I have read this
    submit and if I may I want to counsesl you some attention-grabbing things or advice.

    Maybe yoou can write next articles regarding
    this article. I wish to learn even more issues about it!

  5. Hey I am so happy I found your site, I really found you by error, whil I was browsing on Bing for something else, Anyhow I am here now
    andd would just like to say many thanks for a marvelous post and a all
    round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have
    time to read it all aat the moment but I hae saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the awesome jo.

  6. I love what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever
    work and exposure! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve added you guys to my
    personal blogroll.

Leave a Reply

