I am Grateful for My Body

Man, I suck. I haven’t written a blog post since last year! I suck. Oh well, I’m sure you’ll get over it. I have.

I’m back because I need to talk about something that I feel very strongly about. And that is…

My body.

For years I’ve battled with my body. I starved it, pushed it through painful workouts, picked it – I basically treated my body like crap.

It isn’t until now that I realise how much my body has been through and yet it’s still working for me!

I bring this up because we always have those thoughts in our minds that we are never thin enough or our stomachs aren’t flat enough or we can’t run as fast or far as someone else. 

I still get thoughts these days telling me that I’m ugly and that I should eat sugary foods because they’ll make me fat and even uglier. Yes, I still have these thoughts, but I don’t act on them. I just put everything into perspective.

My body has been through so much because of me. It could have given up on me if it wanted. My body could have broken bones or left me injured for the rest of my life. But it fought for me. It fought against my efforts to torture it and has healed thanks to putting weight on and continuing to eat healthily. My mind may still not be completely recovered, but my body is. 

After so long of depriving my body of nutrients, rest and sugar (oh sugar, how I missed you!), my body wants it, so I eat it. I no longer want to deprive my body of anything, whether that be food, exercise, water, rest or sleep. I’m still making up for 7 years of deprivation. Eventually, I may no longer want sugar all the time, but right now I’m happy making up for lost time, and I feel good about it!

I am thankful for my body. I am thankful for everything it’s done for me. It has endured so much and I feel so bad about that. But what I have learnt from this awful experience is that our bodies are precious and they are our only vessels to explore this world. You only have one. Do not take advantage of it. Be kind and loving. Give it rest, movement and food. Even though you may not like how it looks, look at yourself in the mirror and thank your body for being able to pull through the worst of your illness. And most importantly…

Smile 🙂

 

Have you had a similar experience with your body?

katy

Posted on 12 February 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. littlemissminny

    Glad that you’re back hun 🙂
    It’s like I wrote this post, lately I’ve been thinking about my body, and my eating habits, and even though I still would like thinner legs and flat stomach, I appreciate my body, and am proud of myself for healing and recovering from Ed. I’m glad that I’m healthy now, and can focus on other things besides food and exercise. And eating chocolate,sugar and all other things I didn’t allow myself before is quite enjoyable.
    I’m glad that you’re feeling the same 🙂
    You’ll write more often, riiiight? 🙂

    • Thank you, Marina! I’m so glad you feel the same. I’m very proud of you for powering through! Can’t wait to meet you ❤ ❤

      Oh, and I AM going to be writing more 🙂

  2. This was very good to read, Katy – thank you so much for that! My relationship with my body still isn’t good, because it inhibits me of so many things by being exhausted and flooding me with uncomfortable sensations constantly. I’m coming to realize that I have to cooperate with my body instead of trying to enslave it, but it’s really difficult for me.

  3. Holy smokes! I remember reading your blog ages ago (okay, ages maybe equals a year, possibly two). And what a huge wonderful change you have made in that time. Wow. I am amazed and so encouraged by you. Wow, you’re pretty darn tooting inspirational.

Leave a Reply

