Have a Slice of Oat and Nut Bar..sss

As promised (I don’t remember when), here is my Oat and Nut Bar recipe:

Katy Pie’s Oat and Nut Bars

Oat and nut bars!

And they’re wheat and dairy free to boot!

You will need:

  • ~100g of any nuts of your choice (I use mixed nuts)
  • 1 cup of rolled oats (not porridge oats)
  • 1/4 cup of oat bran
  • 1/4 cup of brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup of tapioca starch
  • 50g of coconut oil
  • 3-4 tablespoons of brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons of golden syrup
  • 1 egg
  • vanilla extract
  • Chocolate chips and seeds (optional)

Preheat the oven to 180°C fan bake. Put the nuts into a snap lock back and smash them with the end of a rolling pin until they’re crushed and lumpy. Combine the dry ingredients (including the sugar) in a bowl. Meanwhile, melt the coconut oil in the microwave and add to the dry ingredients. Then add the egg, golden syrup and vanilla extract. When that’s all combined, add in your extras. Dark chocolate is delicious in these!

Put into a 9×9 inch pan and flatten with a spatula. Put in the oven for 15 minutes or so until the edges are brown. Let cool before cutting into squares. Serves 12.

Enjoy!

Posted on 19 February 2012, in FODMAP, Food, Health, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Making these! Today, maybe. I’ve slowly starting to get back into cooking/baking and these look awesome. PS. How much is 100g?

    • I would say about 1/2 a cup? Really you can use as many nuts as you want. That’s just a random amount that I put out there 😛

      Let me know how they turn out. Yay for baking!

      • Thanks Glen, I have to admit to being a bit delighted! btw have a look at the judges report when it comes out, Final Siren got a specific positive mention ( I’m assuming that’s yours, unless someone else has conlaidentcily written a piece with the same name?)

      • I believe other website owners should take this web site as an model, very clean and fantastic user genial style .VA:F [1.6.5_908]please wait…VA:F [1.6.5_908](from 0 votes)

      • This chair is awesome! Its style is timeless, and the fabric looks like it won't hurt any people who will sit on it. Where can I look for this kind of chair? I am planning to purchase one for my study room within my Denver real estate property.

  2. These look delicious! What an amazing recipe! 😀

  3. I can’t believe I missed this, it’s so cool :). And I might actually have all the ingredients in the house – score! 😀

Leave a Reply

