My Trip to England: Part 3

Hello, Lovers!

I hope you’ve all had a fantastic week filled with smiles, cats and nail polish. Today I am going to carry on with my England trip recaps but this one, I’ll let the pictures do most of the talking.

On the last weekend of our trip, we went down to Faversham, Kent (the South-East England) to visit my Nan, Auntie, Uncle and Cousin. Can I just again mention how expensive train travel is in the UK?! It’s redonk!! Anyway, while we were down there, we watched the Faversham Christmas lights get turned on. It was quite something.

The town square filled with people and pretty lights.

 

Close up of Christmas tree and its pretty lights.

 

IT'S SANTAAAAAAAAAA!!! But not really...

 

Merry Christmas to All!

 After we saw all the Christmas lights, it was time to head back to my Grandparents place in Essex. Since it’s a long trip and I needed some entertainment, I decided to take a series of pictures of the journey home including photos of the underground trains and much much more. Get excited.

This is the high speed train that we travelled on. It went pretty fast. But due to track works, we had to play musical chairs (but with trains) and we didn't get the chance to go fast on it for too long. Boo.

 

The Olympics symbol at St Pancras Station.

 

The Underground sign for King's Cross St Pancras Station.

 

Waiting for the train...

 

Oh, there it is!

 

I *think* this is Fenchurch Street. Honestly, it all looks the same to me. No offence.

 

Pret A Manger. These were EVERYWHERE! But they do lovely filled rolls!

 

Fenchurch Street Station. I'll buy it!! Monopoly joke...

 

Putting my ticket into the tickety thing.

 

Our train.

 And that’s where the pictures end because we caught the taxi back from the train station because we didn’t want to walk half an hour in the dark back to my Nan and Grandad’s. The next morning, however, we woke up to see really frost on the ground! Twas a lovely sight!

Frost in the garden.

 

Frosty leaf! Oh, how pretty 🙂

 And then…we had to go home. Boo! 

Personal TVs on our Air New Zealand flights.

 

Waiting to start taxiing at Heathrow airport.

 

The anticipation was killing me. Or I just thought it was necessary to take a photo of myself.

 

If you look carefully, you can see daylight 🙂

 

I was being naughty because I was supposed to have my window closed. But I really did not want to miss a sight like this.

 

Day time!

 

Watching When Harry Met Sally. Don't judge. I've never seen this movie before.

 

Pretty, pretty clouds!

When we arrived in Hong Kong, we went straight to the business lounge because I was starving! I wasn’t feeling the plane food on the way there so I didn’t eat much. Once we got to the lounge, I ate LOTS of delicious Chinese food. How often do you get to eat authentic Chinese food in China? Riddle me that. I didn’t snap a picture ’cause, well, I was busy eating it. But I had spring rolls, noodles, noodle salad, a pork bun and some salad. My tummy was happy after that 🙂

 

This was my special meal because I have a lot of meal requirements. It was an omelette, I think. Pretty average actually.

 

Yeah, I left some of the omelette because I couldn't stomach anymore.

 

After a day and a half of travelling, we had finally arrived back in Auckland. Yay!

 

This was a sign we encountered when going through customs. Border Patrol is another one of those reality airport shows where they catch people smuggling crack and other drugs into the country. I so badly wanted to be on TV but sadly I didn't have any drugs on me. Damn.

 

This was my meal at the Auckland business lounge. I do believe there is some sort of lentil salad, normal salad, and more noodles. The salad kind of took over - I was desperate for something green by this point.

 

On my arrival at home, despite wearing compression socks, I noticed that my feet had swollen up and so I thought it would be nice to share it with you all. You're welcome.

 

I swear, this raccoon came and rummaged through my suitcase and...and... (Friends joke...)

 So there we have it, friends! I hope you have enjoyed my pictures. If you didn’t just tell me you did anyway 😉

Questions: Have you ever had the pleasure of trying airplane food? What are your thoughts?

Posted on 8 January 2012, in England, Family, Food, Holiday. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. God, you have so sexy feet! Hahaha, thank you for sharing. Uhm 😛

    I’m so glad you had a wonderful trip Katy 🙂 What makes me the happiest is to see that you are now able to focus on what matters in life – good experiences and being together with people we love. What a nice kick in the ass to ED to no longer have a trip destroyed by the fear of food. I’m so proud of you – these three posts are beautiful symbols of life and proof that there is indeed hope for everyone recovering from an ED.

    Thank you for your comment, they helped me get back to my motivation again. I was feeling a bit down, but reading your words definetely brought me back up again 🙂 You’re incredible Katy. I will manage to gain back those last pounds and truly experience health.

  2. Whee, I love Christmas markets! And the high speed train looks like a spaceship! 😀 Thank you for sharing all those pictures!

    I’ve had plane food a couple of times, and I always found it terrible and almost didn’t touch it. I wonder whether it’s allowed to take food to a plane, because then I’d do that next time. Usually I just eat something shortly before a flight.

    Happy unpacking! 😉

  3. I love it! Wished you were on the show, but didn’t have drugs 😉

    And that’s awesome that the food was decent on the airplane, and in the airport! When I flew internationally, it was… mystery food 😉

    Hope this week has been great!

    Scott

Leave a Reply

