Have a Slice of Wheat-Free Bread

Hello, my lovelies! 

I hope that you’ve all had a wonderful week! Mine has been full of hot chocolate, cookies, needles and typing. With the good (cookies & hot chocolate) comes the bad (NEEDLES!!!!!). 

Why did my week involve needles, you ask? Well, fortunately I haven’t turned to the dark side. I went to the Doctors on Wednesday and went to see my new Doctor who I absolutely love! She’s young, understanding, straight forward and I can see that I can easily trust her. Since I haven’t got my womanly visitor yet (let’s call her Rose), the Doc asked me to get a blood test of which I am terrified of . Luckily, my good friend needed to get one done as well so we went the next morning to get them done. 

It was quite hilarious because the nurse that was taking our blood samples just assumed that we were in a relationship together!! She asked how we met and stuff and then she went on to ask if our parents have met. Ummm…yeah, that’s when we finally clicked. Rather funny times at our “blood test party”.

Now I have a little recipe for you. Since I’ve gone wheat-free, I’ve been experimenting with different recipes so that I can make my own bread at home. After searching and not finding many good ones, I modified a few and came up with my very own wheat-free bread recipe.

Katy’s Wheat-Free Oat & Rice Flour Bread

 

 

You will need:

  • 1 1/4 cups of warm water
  • 3 teaspoons of active dry yeast
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cups rice flour
  • 1/2 – 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons oil
Dissolve the sugar in warm water in a mixing bowl. Sprinkle the dried yeast over the water  and wait 10 minutes for it to froth. While that’s going, combine the dry ingredients in a bowl. Once the yeast has become frothy, add it to the dry ingredients along with the eggs and oil and stir the batter thoroughly. The batter will look very wet (almost like a muffin mix) but that’s how it is supposed to look. This bread does not need to be kneaded. 
Place the batter in a loaf tin and leave in a warm place for 45 minutes to an hour to rise. Turn the oven on to 160°C (fan force) or 180°C if your oven isn’t fan forced. Bake bread for 40 – 45 minutes or until to the top has gone golden. Take out of the loaf tin straight away and allow to cool.

Enjoy!!

Have you ever tried wheat-free breads?

Are you as terrified as needles as I am?!? 

Posted on 5 November 2011, in FODMAP, Food, Health, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. wow! i’m so impressed at your wheat free bread making skills!
    i’ve been in a similar predicament where someone thought that my best friend was my girlfriend! so embarrassing for us both! apparently amazing laughter and cute outfits equate to “relationship!”
    how old are you? did the blood test give reason to your lack of “flow?”
    i’m scared to death of needles and despite that my health insurance has ALWAYS covered the standard blood tests, i’ve never had them done. the end! 🙂 x

  2. That bread looks really good! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Hey Katie, that bread was tasty as, but pretty crumbly even after cooling. It stuck to the tin a bit but maybe I’ll try baking paper in the bottom next time. I’m going to try adding flaxseed to help the binding side of things.

    • Either add flaxseed or an extra egg. Make sure you include xanthan gum. That helps it all bind together as well. I use a silicone bread “tin” which works really well 🙂

  4. YUMMY! I didn’t have large enough quantities of the rice and oats, so I did 1C each of sweet rice flour and oat flour and 1/2c each of white rice flour and corn starch and for fun added 1/4C Teff flour.

    YUM YUM YUM! My first GF bread. Wonderful! Thank you!

  5. Can i use any substitute for yeast?

Leave a Reply

