Wheat-Free…For Now

Hello, Friends! 

It’s been a while, hasn’t it? Well, I have some good and some bad news regarding my FODMAPs experiment. Let’s start with the bad news.

The Bad News: I can no longer tolerate wheat. 

Yep, that’s right. It’s not because I’m gluten intolerant because I am most definitely not. I exhibit none of the signs of coeliac disease which is something I am very grateful for. However, I do experience side effects to eating wheat-based foods in general. They’re not the same side effects that I experience after I’ve had a high-lactose or high fructose food which is why it’s taken me a while to realise this but the side effects do get in the way.

According to the FODMAPs elimination diet, eating large amounts of wheat can cause discomfort or unpleasant side effects and it is only been since I’ve decreased the amount of bread, cereals and biscuits that I’ve been eating that I’ve realised that I’ve been feeling the way I do because of eating wheat. That is not to say that I’ll never be able to eat wheat again because that would just be a complete nightmare. It just means that I need to completely cut out wheat in order for my body to somewhat “detoxify” from it and start to reintroduce in small amounts in the future to see what my tolerance levels are. That goes for everything in the FODMAPs elimination diet. So right now I am no longer eating anything wheat based.

The Good News: I feel a heck load better than I did!

Since (slowly) cutting out wheat, I do feel better all round. My symptoms have subsided and I’m feeling much more pleasant. Cutting out wheat has also encouraged me to experiment a lot more with food by using different flours in my baking, making my own wheat-free nut bars, coming up with stir-fry creations and learning a whole lot more about food in general. The carbohydrates that I eat now are very much reliant on rice so it’s a good thing that I absolutely love rice otherwise it would really suck. My Dad and I have come up with a wheat-free bread recipe that is my favouritist (yes I know that’s not a word) bread EVER! I will post a recipe of it soon when I get a picture of it.

 

So to sum up, I am no longer eating fruits high in fructose or wheat. I still consume lactose but only through cheese and yoghurt – these things I can [thankfully] still tolerate. What is odd is that I don’t actually feel as though I am missing out! Because I am just replacing foods that I can’t eat with foods that I can, I don’t feel deprived at all. In time, I am going to start reintroducing certain fruits and wheat products again to see how much I can tolerate. I’m not going to go wheat-free forever. Do you know how much wheat-free products cost?! Yeah, I couldn’t keep that up for too long.

 

On another note, it is T minus two weeks until I leave for England! I am so excited, I can hardly contain myself!! I am really looking forward to seeing all of the Christmas displays. Christmas in the UK is so different to Christmas here in New Zealand. For starters, Christmas is in the winter over there whereas it’s summer time here. In 2003 we went back to England to spend Christmas with my grandparents and sadly I got a tummy bug the VERY morning of Christmas. Yeah…I didn’t enjoy Christmas that year. Even though we’re not in the UK for Christmas this time (we’re only there for 2 and a half weeks!), we’re still planning a Christmas dinner. EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE 😀 (<—-See I’m having a hard time trying to contain myself!)

 

For those who live in/have been to London, is there anything you would recommend for my Dad and I to do while we are over there? We’ve been to the Tower of London, Shakespeare’s Globe, the HMS Bismark, Tower Bridge, Buckingham Palace…I think that’s it.

 

Could you ever live without wheat? I know I can stick to it for a few months but I really think I’ll start getting cravings for it eventually. I don’t think I could live the rest of my life without branflakes!

Posted on 29 October 2011, in FODMAP, Food, Health, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. It stinks that you have to have these restrictions on your diet :/ I am so glad you are feeling better though!

    And I am so excited for your UK Christmas plans 🙂 You are going to have a great time!

  2. i could totally live without wheat! i just wrote about individualism as it pertains to diets! it’s called, “governed by calories?” http://nicoleandgwendolyn.com/2011/10/27/governed-by-calories/.

    i’m excited for your revelation, and i’m happy that you’re making a healthy change that suits you!

    while in london, meet some cute london boys! 🙂 that’s my recommendation. the accent gets me every time!

  3. It must be such a relief to have figured out the source of your discomforts- even though cutting out wheat for now does seem like a tough adjustment; however there really are so many alternatives out there nowadays with the high prevalence of food allergies/intolerances people have.
    And England! So exciting! I used to live in England and I visit London almost yearly- one of my favourite cities! In terms of touristy stuff, I love British Museum and Tate Modern- and being a shopaholic going to Selfridges and Harrods is always a must 🙂

  4. I am getting no updates when you post 😦

    I couldn’t do without wheat! When I was recovering I had to be really careful as my stomach and digestive system was so so sensitive.
    So I was more careful.
    I think now, though I have wheat, I know when not to.
    My body seems to do it automatically and it is like it knows what foods I need and when.

    As for London, there is so much to do and probably the best think and that is more than worth it is the London Eye 🙂

  5. Welcome to the club, Katy! Due to my food allergies, I eat a gluten-free, dairy-free, and (non-fermented) soy-free diet. And you know what? I’m not only finally feeling like a *human* again since I do, but I also eat a much greater variety of food because having to look for alternatives *makes* me look for alternatives! So yeah, I life without wheat and dairy is absolutely possible and enjoyable! 🙂

  6. I’m glad you’re feeling better now. I remember when I finnaly realized I was lactose intolerant and started cutting dairy out of my diet I felt LOADS better. So although it might be a bit inconvenient to have to cut out wheat from your diet – I’m sure you’ll feel better for it in the long run.

    I still have a feeling I have an undiscovered food intolerance, because I have a few stomach issues as well. Maybe I should try the wheat thing?

    One food I would have a REALLY hard time living without is fruit. I’m a total fructose addict 😛

  7. Since researching for a short time to get a great content articles pertaining to this point . Checking out in Google I finally picked up this blog. After reading these details I’m just glad to enunciate that I’ve got a really good impression I discovered whatever I wanted. I most certainly will ensure to don’t forget this web site and take a visit coetlssnntiy.My blog is .

  8. That’s a shrewd answer to a tricky question

  9. I hadn’t been able to put my finger on WHY I was so disappointed that this Easter came and I had nothing planned. I have so wanted to do something special at Christmas and Easter. I do want those to be the most special holidays. You have inspired me to add a new column to the budget so that I’m thinking all year long, as I nest extra money away!! My kiddos are 5, 3, 2 and 8 months so it’s definitely not too late!!! Thanks for the post and ideas!!

  10. And uhhhh… Flash – About the Malcom thing…As a card carrying young radical in training at the time, I think I have a bit more than just a Librarian’s perspective …And Malcom would have strongly suggested you current crop of coonservatives trying to glom onto his and Martin’s material, in some sort of perverted reverse symbolism…Are operating on 300 years of borrowed time…On a 299 year clock.Couple of us Old Skooler’s floating around the WWW. Suggest you talk to Prometheus 6 or Nanakwame for a little perspective if you ever cross their paths.BT

Leave a Reply

