An Update of Sorts

You guys are so wonderful! Seriously. Thank you so much for the support and kind words. It definitely helps knowing that you guys truly believe in me so thank you 🙂

This week has been such an improvement compared to what I was like last week. I still feel anxious but it’s not so overwhelming that I feel ill or need to go home from work. The doc said that my medication wouldn’t start working for at least two weeks but I swear it started working almost instantly. When I get anxious now, it’s really intense for about 20 minutes and then it just tapers off and I feel so different. It’s just so weird. Is that what anti-anxiety medication feels like when it’s working? I have no idea. Whether it’s the medication or not, I’m just so relieved that things are getting better in the mean time.

I also wanted to update you all on my experience with the FODMAPs way of eating. Basically, I’ve cut out apples and honey and I am weaning myself off my fruity muesli that I love to have every morning and I can proudly say that I have improved so much! No longer am I feeling bloated or gassy (you know you wanted to know that). No longer do I feel like I want to take a nap after lunch (lunchtime was when I would eat my apple). And when I eat something with fructose in it, I notice. I still eat strawberries and bananas but can only handle strawberries in small amounts because they are far too sweet for me now. I used to live off fruit and now I can’t handle the flavour because it’s far too sour! It’s amazing how your taste buds can change so quickly. After a few months of eating this way I might try and bring back some fruit and see how much I can handle. But at the moment I’m feeling really good. Although I do have to admit that I really do miss how refreshing a piece of fruit could be.

So far everything is going well. I’m full of positivity again and I’m so relieved for that. I’m sleeping well and I’m allowing my body to rest when it needs. Now I just need to find more cereal because I am completely obsessed with it right now and I fear that I’m going to turn into a cornflake.

What’s your favourite cereal??

Posted on 24 September 2011, in Anxiety, FODMAP, Health. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. So happy to hear that you’re feeling better, Katy! ❤ You are so strong and your positivity always inspires me! I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  2. the FODMAPs thing is very intriguing! glad its worked out well!! have a great weekend!!

  3. Cinnamon Life cereal and Kix 🙂

  4. I remember first seeing FODMAPS on Gina’s site (Candid RD)- for me, it’s eating several veggies that cause me discomfort/that i have to avoid. Favourite cereals: Barbara’s cinnamon/pb puffins and kashi honey sunshine. Also love grape nuts!

  5. I am so glad you are feeling better 🙂

    My fave cereals are golean crunch, and honey bunches of oats! If I have to choose that is 😉

    have a great weekend!

    Scott

  6. You forgot to mention the deliciousness that is gelato!!

  7. When I recently discovered I was lactose intolerant it was really amazing how good I felt after cutting it out of my diet. I’m happy you’re feeling better too.

    I’ve been on a serious cereal kick this week myself – and call me weird but I’m obsessed with bran flakes, soya milk and bananas – so good!

  8. Yes!! This post bring such a smile to my face Katy. You sound so much more positive, happier and brighter .
    Hmm…cereal? Oatmeal count? Hehe. Other than that I love love love (unhealthy but awesome) fruit loops. I had them for the first time when I was 18 and was thoroughly addicted. Other than that any Kashi will do 🙂

  9. so happy your feeling better!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. My fav cereals are Orgran Rice O’s in the Berry Flavour (they also come in chocolate!), or Vogels Ultra Bran. I am so happy to read that you are feeling better! xx

  11. I love oatmeal but my favorite cereal would be this because it’s not too sugary (I omit the brown sugar)
    http://www.pbfingers.com/2011/01/23/chocolate-protein-granola/

    I have anxiety too, and it really sucks. I’m truly sorry you have to go through it. I don’t take medication because I don’t believe in taking pills. I just usually ride the attack through and try and repair myself mentally. Also, I’ve been having pretty bad “tummy troubles” lately. I eat a piece of candied ginger before every meal and it helps a lot. I hoped this helped & I wish you the best of luck & hope you’re feelin’ better!

  12. So I might be a tiny bit late in my response here >.< Pardon!
    But my beautiful, amazing , one-of-a-kind Katy – I hope you are still feeling this good and positive 🙂 That the meds help you get through the days, and that your diet does not get in the way of you feeling at your very best.
    You deserve to rock, you know 😉

    Thank you for being my friend, support and inspiration. You are precious.
    ❤

  13. Im glad your doing a bit better. Im always here for support you KNOW that. I love you girl!

    Dana xoxo

Leave a Reply

