5 Things You Didn’t Know About Your Katy-Pie

Well, well, well. Look who it is. Wait…who is it? I dunno. Anyways…

I hope you’ve all had a fabulastic week. My week has had a few ups and downs but I ended the week on a bright note! I was suffering from some anxiety attacks earlier on in the week and had to go home from work early because I wasn’t feeling so great. So I went home from work, had some chocolate (a must) and went outside to get some fresh air. I then spent the rest of the evening doing what makes me happy. That is, watching QI. This show makes me laugh without fail. Laughter is the best medicine after all, ya know!

Now for a little bit of fun.

5 Things You Didn’t Know About Katy:

  1. I dream of travelling every. single. day. I don’t know about you, but I get random urges to go travelling. Nothing makes me happier than being on a plane and going to a foreign destination. My life’s goal is to visit as many countries as I can before a cark  it.

  2. I can sing in Russian and French but I have no idea what the bloody hell I’m saying. For all I know I could be singing the most inappropriate of songs. It started when the band t.A.T.u. came into existence. I loved them so much that I became so obsessed that I started to learn Russian in order to understand their Russian lyrics. I even had a friend that befriended me just because I like the same band as she did and we were best friends for about a year all the while learning Russian and singing t.A.T.u. songs. I still know the lyrics to their songs but I no longer learn the language. It’s a really cool language, I have to admit. But I don’t really have the time for these kind of obsessions these days. I do, however, still remember how to speak French from learning it from school. Bonjour! (<– see)

  3. I have the weirdest dreams known to man. I don’t mean the kind of dreams where you sit there day dreaming. I mean dreaming in your sleep. I once dreamt that I was a watermelon. Thursday night, I dreamt it was my birthday and all of my friends were going to take me out to celebrate but instead they took my Dad out instead. WTFloogie? I even woke up crying from that one. I told my Dad and he said that the same night he dreamt that he was going around hugging everybody. Odd.

  4. I have a “strange” family. Not in the sense that we are all bonkers because it’s no secret that we are all absolutely insane.

My Brother and I circa July 2008

What I mean is that my family isn’t your typical run of the mill family. When we moved to New Zealand in 1995, soon after we arrived, my Mum left my Dad and moved in with another woman. Yep, my Mum likes girlies. I didn’t find it strange. In fact, I was jealous that my Mum was living with a friend. I didn’t actually realise she was Gay until I was 14. It took a good 8 years to realise it. I’m not slow or anything…

So fast forward to 2007. My Mum left her partner, found a new one and in November 2008 they told me that they were having a baby together. WTFloogie?! My first question was how? A donor, obviously. We were all thrilled and in May 2009, my Mum’s partner gave birth to a baby boy. He is my little man.

Me and my little man, Dominic. He sure loves his bunny.

You might be wondering what my Dad thinks of all of this, perhaps. Dad absolutely adores Dominic! My Mum lives about 4 hours away from us these days and she’s down for a week with Dominic so we are going to visit them tonight and have some takeaway pizza. So excited!

And because the number system is all messed up now (thanks, WordPress) I’m going to carry on using bullet points instead.

  • As of this week, I have to follow the FODMAP diet. Although I really don’t like calling it a diet. Basically, I am intolerant to fructose and lactose. Lucky me. I can only have certain fruits as well as cheese and yoghurt. Fruit like apples, pears, plums, peaches and other fruits high in fructose are out of the question. They make me feel ill and it is mighty unpleasant. I will spare you the details. FODMAP stands for Fermentable Oligo-, Di- and Mono-saccharides, and Polyols. You know I copy and pasted that. It’s designed for people with symptoms of IBS or IBD. I have neither but my doctor recommends that I loosely follow this way of eating and figure what works for me. It sucks because I can no longer have milk chocolate or enjoy an apple with lunch but it’s good because I am starting to feel better and I’m even getting less random bouts of sadness which I’ve heard is a symptom of an intolerance. So if you choose to eat soy and stay away from fruit even though you are still perfectly able to enjoy fruit and milk, I hate you.
Do you have any intolerances that really piss you off?
Tell me one thing that people don’t usually know about you?
Posted on 3 September 2011, in Family, FODMAP, Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I’m so computer challenged that it isn’t even funny. I was happily typing up a comment and then my fingers spazzed and it all went haywire. So let’s try this again:

    I’m lactose intolerant although I don’t care because I dislike dairy anyways. As of the past few weeks I’m finding that coffee doesn’t like me (makes me sleepy and bloated) so that might be getting nixed.. maybe. I love coffee and don’t want to give it up completely so we’ll see.

    I love that you’re family is “strange”! Mine is too and personally I think being weird is way more fun than being normal and a clone of everyone else.

  2. You’re one of a kind, Katy, and that’s why I love you 😀 I heard about that FODMAP diet, and I hope that you find some relief in it, because stomach issues are a pain in the butt to deal with =\ I feel like I might have some sort of intolerances myself because my stomach’s been a bit wonky lately, but I have no idea what they might be. I hate playing the elimination game because sometimes I swear it’s all in my head or just a fluke. Sometimes certain foods cause me no problems, and other times they do. I have no idea what they heck is up with my stomach, but I wish it would give me some sort of instruction booklet.

    ❤ ❤

  3. haha i loved this post! I LOVED learning about you 🙂
    I kinda have a weird family as well…You’d have to meet them to truly understand. My dad is a Buddhist with tattoos and large ear gauges haha who happens to work in corporate Manhattan..Odd? I love him! My moms typical Jersey house wife lol which is just weird in it self.

    Some things you didnt know about me? UMMM………I can make a paper piano haha I use to like origami! I love the ocean, I kinda wish I was a fish. Whenever I go to the beach I just go under water and hold my breath for ages, for some reason the silence under water is soothing to me.

    I love nude art. (I dont care if you think thats creepy) haha

    I’ve gone through every “stage” in the book growing up. Cheerleader, nerd, goth, rocker, etc. I tried them all out to the extreme! lol I was all OVEERRR the place. Kinda funny looking back at photos over the years.

    Okay now that I told you like 10 things about me and you only asked for one I feel completely self centered.

    xx

  4. I am very lucky! I’m not intolerant towards anything…but I am very tolerant of pre-packaged foods 🙂 Some people consider it a “syndrome” but I call it AWESOME! 🙂

    My family is the typical conservative, Christian, dysfunctional farm family. We’re so sane were insane 🙂

    Unfortunately I don’t like pie…but reading Katy-pie is quite an enjoyable experience!

  5. my sister had to go on a similar diet for some tummy issues but luckily after a while they cleared up! hope yours will too, but until then, my most sincere empathy! rough.

  6. I love Katy and I love her family 🙂 You all seem to be so warm, fun and tolerant people – the world need you guys! I’m really glad you have brilliant and loving people around you, who support and accept each other.
    It made me laugh when you said you were jealous of your mum, haha 😛 Ah, Katy Katy – a sign of your innocent mind I guess 😉 And besides, this all proves that we are not naturally inclined to treat gay people differently ( which sadly so many still do ), the way we relate to gay people is based on what we learn, on influence from the social world.

    And you learned Russian?! Now that is a proof that you are anything but slow, because that language is HARD! Gosh. I thought Polish was a challenge, but with Russian you need to learn a new alphabet too. You got my respect, monkey.

    I hope you’ll find out what to eat to feel at your best Katy, though I must say my body cries a bit for you since you can’t eat milk chocolate. Very compassionate tears that is, because milk chocolate is like Christmas and Birthday all at the same time. ( Yeah yeah Hedda, you are making it so much easier for the poor girl now ;P )

    People don’t usually know that I love classical music. I enjoy waking up early and read the newspaper while enjoying classical music. Old? Me? NAH! I’m cool.

  7. This was such a fun post to read. Dominic is adorable!

    I’m lactose intolerant for sure and I probably have several other intolerances I’m not even aware of (I suffer from IBS quite a lot). But the lactose things pisses me off because I LOVE cheese and it’s been really hard finding other staple sources of protein and calcium without the milk product option.

    Hmmm, something you might not know about me is that I’m an obsessive planner. From the minute I wake up I have a time schedule for just about everything. This doesn’t stress me out or anything, actually I find it quite comforting to know what I’m going to be doing when. But it’s still rather odd for some people 😛

  8. I loovee to travel, too!
    Thats so cool that you can sing in Russian and French! 😀

  9. 🙂 strange families make for an interesting life. My brother has a habit of dressing up and scaring the crap out of us…When I was 9 I found out I had an older sister. I have 4 step-sister’s who I don’t actually know.

    I’m allergic to a commonly used food dye, sigh. It means I have to avoid a lot of lollies, chocolates, cakes, ice-creams, soft-drinks, some breads… There is a push to go to natural colourings so soon I wont have to worry. But yeah, it pisses me off

  1. Pingback: Have a Slice of Katy Pie

  2. Pingback: Breakfasts of Champions « Have a Slice of Katy Pie

  3. Pingback: An Update of Sorts « Have a Slice of Katy Pie

Leave a Reply

