Have a Slice of Cheesecake Brownie

They see me waddlin'. They hatin'.

Yeah they do.

Guys. Guys. Guys. Guys? GUYS!!!!

Oh my...

I almost died whilst eating this. Not because of all of the poison it had in it but because of the deliciousness that was this cheesecake brownie. (Recipe to follow.)

Now I’ve dabbled and played with many a brownie recipe over the last year or so but in the end I just went with my instinct and added in my own amount of everything. Many recipes call for unsweetened chocolate but I’ll be buggered if I have any unsweetened chocolate in my house. That’s just gross. Then others don’t even ask for cocoa powder. What is a brownie without cocoa powder? Seriously?!

I tend to only loosely follow baking recipes these days because, really, it’s up to your own personal taste. As long as you have the main ingredients that make up thing you are trying to bake (e.g. flour, eggs, butter/oil) you should be alright.

I would follow a recipe for a cake that was either too dry or waaaay too moist (Yes, you can have a cake that is too moist), and be unhappy with the result. I would bite into a chocolate chip cookie to find that the recipe didn’t call for enough chocolate chips and I’ll be damned if I am to eat a chocolateless chip cookie. Some recipes call for a drop of vanilla or a pinch of cinnamon but there you find me pouring the entire bottle of vanilla and “accidently” dropping in the cinnamon. Who needs other flavours anyway? 

I think you get what I’m talking about.

When it comes to cooking or baking, go with your own tastes. Don’t add raisins or nuts to something if you don’t like them. You will never see me adding walnuts to cakes or brownies or even, heaven forbid, sandwiches *shudders*. To me, cakes should be soft and without crunch. Cookies should have a bite to them and not be soft. After all, a cakes is defined as a baked good that goes hard when stale and a cookie is a baked good that goes soft when stale. (Thanks QI for that quite interesting piece of information.) 

Oats have a whole different category of their own. Everyone makes them differently. Some enjoy their oatmeal with bananas and eggs, some with copious and very necessary amounts of nut butter. Many like their oats soupy while others prefer them dry or “tough”. Some prefer theirs from the fridge after allowing them to soak in whatever milk or mish mash you prefer or even, if you’re that way inclined, you prefer them away from you at all times. That’s fair enough.

This is how I prefer my brownies:

[Please excuse my switching between different measuring systems.]

Katy’s Cheesecake Brownies

For the brownie batter:

  • 85 grams butter (I think that’s about 3/4 of a stick)
  • 120 grams sweetened dark chocolate (I just use dark chocolate chips)
  • 2/3 cup of sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1-1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup of cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour

For the cheesecake batter:

  • 230 grams of full fat cream cheese
  • 1/3 cup + 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Unless you plan on just eating the batter, pre-heat your damn over to 180°C or 350°F and butter or line a brownie pan so that the buggers don’t stick.

On the stove, melt your butter and chocolate chips over a low heat, stirring as needed, until just melted. Dip your finger in. You know you want to. Take the saucepan off the stove and mix in the sugar, eggs, vanilla and some salt if you’re using unsalted butter until it’s all combined. Stir in the dry ingredients (flour and cocoa powder) and pour into your lined brownie pan thing. 

Using a whizz stick or processor, mix the cream cheese, sugar, egg yolk and vanilla together until there are no lumps unless you like lumps. Each to their own. Then dollop onto the brownie batter and swirl, twirl and make pretty patterns. You know you want to.
Throw it into the oven (not actually, you don’t want to make even more of a mess than you already have) for 35-45 minutes until the edges are slightly puffy and your brownie has set. I say that but I baked mine for 40 minutes so that the brownie still hadn’t set and it was partly cakey partly gooey. Delicious.
Then eat. EAT THEM ALL AND DON’T SHARE WITH ANYONE!!! Then as you go about your day, it’ll be a bit like this:

They see me waddlin'. They hatin'.

Yeah they do. 

Do you add your own spin to recipes or are you paranoid it’ll all go wrong if you do?
Do you bake often? If so, what is your favourite thing to bake?
Posted on 28 August 2011, in Food, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I always do something to a recipe as well, although, sometimes it doesn’t turn out good 😀
    But I love your philosophy in baking 🙂
    And I love this recipe! Except for the measuring unit for sugar 😀 😛
    My next baking adventure will be red velvet cake. Me and my fiance tried it for the first time in London, and now we can’t stop thinking about it 😀

  2. Ah, okay here is the plan.
    First we’ll eat real, lovely sausages, then we’ll dive into this heaven of a baked goodie.
    And then we’ll be waddlin’ like no one has ever done before ( after we’ve layed down for an hour or so, that is 😛 )

    One of the things I love about this recipe is that it is REAL. There are no disorded tendencies here to replace sugar etc – it’s a cake like mothers have made since the day the human race was born.

    I usually add my little twists to a recipe, mostly out of fun ( talk about crazy life, eh? ) 🙂 And my favourite thing to bake must be muffins because you can do so much to them and they are (almost) idiot -proof. That’s a thing I like and am very grateful for.

    Come on darling, you ready to waddle?

  3. I used to follow recipes to a tee when I was first learning how to bake because I had absolutely no idea what I was doing and didn’t want to screw up. Then I started experimenting a little bit more, and then I started experimenting A LOT when I was suffering from my ED by making all of those “healthy” substitutions. How I ever managed to stomach what was basically flour and water I have no idea. Blech. Nowadays I can’t even really remember the last time I followed a recipe. I usually combine 2 or 3 different ones, or just come up with one on my own and pray that it turns out. Sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn’t 😆 That being said, these brownies look deeee-licious. But is it weird that I’ve never really been big on brownies? Or maybe I was but I just thought they were chocolate cake? In any case, anything rich and chocolatey is good in my books 😀

  4. I add my own spin on anything and everything just because IDK im a bit of a rule breaker. My boyfriend gets all freaked out when he sees me not “following the directions” for chicken parm or something…He looks at me like the dish is going to explode because I decided to skip this or add that. mehhh whatever 🙂 Most of the time it turnns out delish! Sometimes yuckkkyyy but MOST of the time “yucky” is when im making healthier recipes. I find you really need to STICK to the recipes on those for them to taste “okay”. But adding things like extra cheese, garlic, etc? I mean seriously, thats not going to make anything taste BAD! haha

  5. One Word: HEAVEN.
    I am definitely going to try out this recipe!!!! Thanks girl!
    I don’t have a ton of baking experience- all I’ve ever baked by myself is chocolate chip cookies which are my fave- but I don’t see anything wrong with getting creative and being less rigid about ingredients! I’m not rigid about ingredients in cooking at all.

  6. Hahahaha! Oh my god, love this. I don’t usually stray from recipes too much.. or at least I didn’t use to but I’m definitely fine with doing my own thing when I’m in the mood. It really all depends on how I’m feeling. I’m thinking I should attempt a vegan version of this.. I could so do it and it would taste amazing although maybe not as amazing as your non vegan one. Who knows. I think I’m up for this challenge.

  7. Ah Katy those look amazing! I made cheesecake brownies for my friend’s birthday last year! Om nom nom.

    I love the penguin picture, btw. Hilarious.

  8. hahah great post! Wow that is the ultimate daddy of desserts, I just wrote down the recipe to make for a special occassion, or just when I’m bored in uni you know..
    I always put my own spin on things and weirdly, nothing has gone wrong yet, in fact the only fails have been recipes I’ve followed! Fluke? I think so hehe.

  9. Cheesecake brownies are right up there with chocolate chip cookie cheesecake bars in my book.
    Yummeh!

Leave a Reply

