Winter Wonderland

Well ladies & gentlemen, it has officially snowed here in Wellington New Zealand for the first time in 16 years.

...Where is it?

OK, well you can’t really see it. (Like our car?)

How about now?

SNOW!

Please don’t spontaneously combust due to the awesomeness of the image quality.

This second picture was taken soon after shit hit the fan, so to speak. Let me explain.

I was sitting in my room. I was chillaxin’, some might even go so far to say. And then there was a flash. Then a KABOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMM *rattle rattle rattle* *house starts to shake* *Katy calls an official brown alert*. Then the heavens opened and all sorts of stuff fell from the sky. Now some might say this is hail…which it is. But let’s forget about that and say it’s a mixture of hail and snow just for Katy’s sake, kapeesh?

At this point I had decided it wasn’t a very good idea to go for a walk because let’s face it, I like having a face and being able to feel my toes. Unlike Donkey, I do have toes to feel.

Rewind to earlier in the day when I was at work, there was an awesome snow storm and it was just so incredibly breathtaking. The only time I’ve ever seen it snow was when I was 4 years old and I was still living in England. Other than that I’ve only ever been in the snow while I was snowboarding in the North Island but I’ve never EVER seen it snow in Wellington. Considering that we are pretty much at the latitude as Melbourne, it is pretty unusual. The last time it snowed was actually the winter before we moved here and even then the snow didn’t settle much.

I would like to give a special shout out to my beloved Antarctica for providing us all here is Wellington with this amazing experience. Love you, Ant 😉

"Love you too, Katy." Oh I wish.

(Source)

Yes, I am a crazy weather nut. Hence why I’m studying meteorology. D’uh.

Have you ever had any crazy weather experiences where you live?

Do you like my Dad’s awesome car? It’s pretty rad.

Posted on 15 August 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I can’t even imagine what it must be like to not get snow. To me, that sounds heavenly but at the same time I can understand why you get so excited about it!
    I live in England and am quite high up so when it snows, it’s always the worst in my part of the city. Honestly, last year, it was so bad that people were literally snowed in. Cars couldn’t go down the roads, buses were off, everyone was falling all over the place (especially moi!). I hate how cold it gets but I love getting toasty with some nice soup and a book. Plus, it always looks so pretty just after it’s fallen. Not so much when it’s turned in to snow soup but we’ll ignore that fact!

    I like this post. You’re cute 🙂

  2. yayyyyy snowwwww! hehe. i went for a cruise to pukerua bay today and took photos cos my boss told me nooooo dont drive to work! photos on my fb

  3. You can always come visit me here in Canada if you like snow. We get tonnes of it every winter. Too much, in fact. By the time January rolls around you’re basically just wishing for it to be over, and then it sticks around ’till the middle of April. Eeee hard to believe that summer is almost over and that we’re gonna have to deal with winter soon. But at least we get Fall first…. which is beautiful 😀

  4. Haha when I went to college in Portland, Oregon we used to have days in April where it would snow, hail, pour rain, thunderstorm, and be perfectly sunny…all in a matter of an hour. Nuts.
    And yes your dad’s car is rather rad if I may say so 🙂

  5. Amazing! It is so weird to think it is winter there!

    I have had some of those moments here in AZ too! Sand storms are absolutely otherworldly!

    Have a wonderful day!

    Scott

  6. I can’t imagine having snow right now. I’m not in a mood for colder weather, brr. Freezing, stuck inside and all. I wish summer would stick a round a year or two 😀
    But hey, I’m glad you’re enjoying your snow 🙂 And plenty of hot chocolate with it 🙂

  7. Yay, I’m so glad you got to experience snow in Wellington!!!! Where I live we get snow every year- many times schools are cancelled because of the massive amounts of snow in the Winter- so I’m used to it and pretty sick of it by now, but I can only imagine how exciting it must be for you!!! 🙂 I definitely want to hear more about your interest in meteorology.

Leave a Reply

